Rowing Australia and Rowing WA welcome the release of a roadmap by the Western Australian Government which outlines the plan for an easing of its controlled border in early 2022.     

WA’s Safe Transition Plan allows for the easing of border restrictions once 90 percent of eligible Western Australians have had both doses of the COVID-19 vaccine. The WA Government anticipates this milestone will be reached in late January/early February 2022, noting that no firm date has yet been set. Once the borders re-open, travellers entering Western Australia will need to meet certain conditions, including requirements for COVID-19 testing and vaccination. View the Plan here. 

The announcement paves the way for RA to move cautiously forward with its planning of key events, including the Australian Masters Rowing Championships (AMRC), which is due to be held at Champion Lakes, Western Australia, between 19-22 May 2022.   

Rowing Australia CEO Ian Robson said the announcement provided RA with clarity and confidence to progress with planning for the delivery of the AMRC. 

“We’re pleased to receive confirmation from the Western Australian Government that border restrictions will ease in 2022, pending the State meeting its COVID-19 vaccination targets,” Robson said.   

“Not only does it allow us to forge forward with our planning for a successful event, this announcement should give interstate competitors some confidence to start planning their travel to Western Australia,” he said.  

Rowing WA CEO Daniel Tackenberg said: “Rowing WA are excited to be planning to host the Australian Masters Rowing Championships again in 2022, following an extremely successful event in 2019. The roadmap released by the State Government provides the first positive indication that we will hope to be re-connected with the other States in time for the 2022 AMRC.” 

The health and safety of all participants and the community remain the priority of both organisations. 

The post 2022 Australian Masters Rowing Championships   appeared first on Rowing Australia.